Brief introduction to Mandalas

October 31, 2014

Mandalas are colorful circular designs that symbolize the concept of eternal life, a cosmic diagram that reminds us of our relationship with infinity. The word comes from ancient Sanskrit and means "sacred circle". They arise in traditional Hindu and Buddhist art, but if we look closely we find them in the expressions of almost every spiritual tradition in the world: in the rose windows of the great cathedrals, in the medicine wheels of the American Indians, in the I Ching, and in the circular Zen paintings, among many others. In addition, the mandalas appear in all aspects of life: the Earth, the sun, the moon, and even in such everyday situations as our family and friendly circles. They all have a shape or we conceive of them psychologically as circles. The Hindus were the first to use mandalas as a spiritual tool, although today most believe they are exclusive to Buddhism. Since ancient times, mandalas have been used for the purpose of meditation, although today they have many uses, among them they are a tool to promote the ability to concentrate and creativity of school-age children. Mandalas are visually appealing in order to absorb the mind to such an extent that irritating thoughts disappear, a gentle way to push us towards meditation.
Mandala of leaves and flowers.
How to use a mandala Choose a mandala that you like, find out its meaning or put one on it. Once the intention is decided, allow your mind to wander over the colors and shapes of the drawing, lose yourself in its beauty, let it absorb all your attention. Relax and let your feelings and thoughts flow. If you feel distressed, uncomfortable, or distracted, simply refocus your attention on the mandala. You are expanding the capacity of your mind and your memory; merging with the universe, you are assimilating the notion of union, totality, integration, and representation of the absolute. For a better understanding, it is interesting to know the meaning of colors in a mandala:
  • White: Nothingness, purity, enlightenment, and perfection.
  • Black: Death, personal limitation, mystery, rebirth, and ignorance.
  • Grey: Neutrality, wisdom, renewal.
  • Red: Masculine, sensuality, love, rootedness, passion.
  • Blue: Tranquility, peace, happiness, satisfaction, joy.
  • Yellow: sun, light, cheerfulness, friendliness, and receptivity.
  • Orange: Energy, dynamism, ambition, tenderness, and courage.
  • Pink: Feminine, childish, sweetness, and altruism.
  • Purple: Love of neighbor, idealism and wisdom.
  • Green: nature, balance, growth, and hope.
  • Violet: Music, magic, spirituality, transformation, and inspiration.
  • Gold: Wisdom, clarity, lucidity, and vitality.
  • Silver: Extrasensory abilities, fluctuating emotions and well-being.
We invite you to encounter the innumerable circular manifestations of your world. One and each one is a mandala, a sacred circle that reveals the secret unity of all things.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Related articles

10 magnificent advantages of using a stainless steel bottle
10 magnificent advantages of using a stainless steel bottle
Hydrating is important. And do it in the best way too. In this article we want to celebrate the use of bottles ...
Read more
The Purusharthas: The four forces that guide us
The Purusharthas: The four forces that guide us
In our path of yoga, consciousness and growth, it is very possible that we have asked ourselves the great question of po...
Read more
How to make chai tea at home: the authentic, natural and aromatic masala chai
How to make chai tea at home: the authentic, natural and aromatic masala chai
The authentic version of the well-known chai tea so that you can make it yourself at home and thus be able to enjoy a...
Read more