How to align the chakras with Yoga?

Jun 28, 2019

According to the Yoga Tradition, there are some postures that are especially good for aligning and balancing the chakras, those energetic points that are found in the spine. The chakras are energy centers distributed in our body: four are at the top and three at the bottom, but how to align the chakras with Yoga? And what kind of asanas is recommended to balance the chakras?

What are the chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. It is a system of seven energy centers located along the spine. Each chakra corresponds to an area of ​​the body, a color, emotional center and behavior, as well as many other aspects, including personal identity and life goals as well as the stages of spiritual growth. When a person has his chakras unblocked, he stays healthy and in balance; he thinks more clearly and is healthy. 

Know the 7 chakras

The seven chakras are:
  • Muladhara o root chakra: located in the perineum, at the base of the spine.
  • Svadhishthana: located in the abdomen, genitals, lower back-hip.
  • manipura or solar plexus chakra.
  • Anahat: located in the area of ​​the heart and lungs.
  • Vishuddhi o chakra of the throat.
  • Ajna, located in the pineal gland, the eyes.
  • y Sahasrara, on top of the head.

Asanas to Balance the Chakras

Muladhara or root chakra
If it has little activity, you will feel fear, otherwise, you could feel greedy. To unlock it you must perform Virabhadrasana I or Warrior I posture. It is also recommended to practice Tadasana (Mountain Pose), Uttanasana (Standing Pincer Pose) and Utthita Trikonasana (Extended Triangle Pose).
Svadhisthana, the chakra of creativity
If you have little activity you will be apathetic, and with a lot of activity you will probably be very emotional. To unlock it, perform the Baddha Konasana pose. Other recommended asanas are Dandasana (Staff Pose), Paschimottanasana (Seated Clamp), Upavista Konasana (Seated Forward Bend), as they directly influence this chakra and stimulate and massage the associated reproductive organs, bladder and uterus. chakra.
Manipura or solar plexus chakra
When it has little activity, it can cause indecisiveness, on the other hand, if it has a lot of activity, it is likely that you are being aggressive. The boat pose is one of the best asanas to unlock this chakra. Other recommended asanas to balance this chakra are Dhanurasana (bow pose), Ustrasana (camel pose) and Setu Bandhasana (bridge pose), as they massage the lower back and abdominal area.
Anahata or heart chakra
If it's low on activity, you're probably being rude; On the other hand, if you have a lot of activity, you will have a tendency to be loving. To balance it, do the camel pose or Ustrasana. The asanas Bhujangasana (cobra pose) and Marjariasana (cat pose) are also recommended. 
Vishuddha or throat chakra
When he's active, you're likely to feel shy; on the contrary, if you have a lot of activity, you will talk too much. You can balance this chakra with yoga by performing Matsyasana (Fish Pose), Vajrasana (Diamond Pose), Viparita Karani Asana (Reverse Gesture Pose), or Halasana (Plow Pose).
Ajna or third eye chakra
When you have little activity, you probably feel confused; On the other hand, if you have a lot of activity, you will have a tendency to suffer from insomnia, intellectual arrogance. To unlock it, do Child's Pose or Balasana, Janu Sirsasana (Head to Knee Pose), or Makarasana (Crocodile Pose). 
Sahasrara or crown chakra

When you have little activity, you probably feel rigid in your thoughts; on the other hand, if you have a lot of activity, you will be very spiritual. To unblock the crown chakra, do headstand or sirsasana, Vrksasana (tree pose), Salamba Sirsasana (headstand), or Ardha Padmasana (half lotus).

Yoga and chakras: concentration and energy

As always in Yoga, the asanas to unblock the chakras are not simply exercises, but rather postures that are carried out slowly and are accompanied by breathing. They can also be accompanied by visualization and circulation of energy. If you want to perform the complete series of asanas, in YogaYe, we recommend you follow the order of the chakras starting with the root chakra and going up. Understanding how to adjust and control your chakras, through Yoga, can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit. Do not hesitate to ask your Yoga teacher. Remember that you can also take a look at them in our physical store at Organic Market Calle Astúries, 22 in Barcelona.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Related articles

Who is the Hindu goddess Saraswati?
Who is the Hindu goddess Saraswati?
Maa Saraswati is the Hindu goddess who represents education, the arts, and wisdom. Her name derives from the root sá...
Read more
Sacred geometry. What is the Merkaba symbol?
Sacred geometry. What is the Merkaba symbol?
As we have been seeing in previous articles about the different symbols of sacred geometry and their meanings...
Read more
How to choose the color of your yoga mat
How to choose the color of your yoga mat
When buying your yoga mat, it is important to take into account many factors such as its anti-slip qualities...
Read more